Heads up August 2023

Finally published my oldest manuscript in my native language Dutch. The idea for this novel ‘Stroomopwaarts’ (Upstream) came to me as a young man. I only started writing this in 2000. Still my debut was in 2005 with the semi-autobiographical ‘Vuile Was’ (Dirty Laundry). At that time I didn’t feel Upstream was ready. Confidence only came after a lot of re-writes and alterations. Now the story is what I intended it to be. The next years Inutilia publishers will publish a selection of my works. About six novels and three volumes of short stories.

I also do keep a sort of a logbook or scrapbook. I started doing this in 2018. It’s a mishmash of daily events, memories, writing experiments, researches, philosophies and brain waves. The aim is to write as honest as possible, expressing uncensored feelings. Which means publishing would be a sure way to get murdered. So whilst still being alive I keep writing. By now my logbook is one and a half million words and certainly half of that isn’t worth publishing. I think. But that all might change when my writing gets an audience. So up to now I just keep adding regular entries and trust a future editor will have to decide what to do with this work after my death.

In the mean time I hope to see all my novels and short stories published whilst I’m still alive.

About dickholzhaus

Omni Creative, thinking, writing and drawing are the purpose of my life.
This entry was posted in Nederlands and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Heads up August 2023

  1. Good work Dick! 1.5 million words. Jeez. I sent you some emails, not sure if you saw them.

    • dickholzhaus says:

      1.5 million is the present count of my logbook. I’m at it every night for about an hour or two. It’s like a scrapbook, short stories, memories, confessions, experiments and daily events. And even though my life isn’t exciting any more, that still makes up about one third of the volume and that needs some serious editing. My guess is that about one third of the volume will remain after editing. I have already ‘lifted’ out a few short stories for publication. Our last email exchange you were recovering from another dengue fever. We are planning to visit Thailand soon, the problem is the planning. We would like to go this October but trucks with jobs keep arriving so now we are considering late January. See you soon!

Leave a comment